The SAP Fiori launchpad home page is the first page that users see after they have logged in. It is the main entry point to SAP Fiori apps on mobile and desktop devices.
The launchpad home page displays tiles that allow the user to launch apps, and may also show additional information. The page can be personalized and tiles can be added, removed, or bundled in groups.
The home page is provided by the SAP Fiori launchpad. Apps use this home page and do not have their own individual design.
The tiles provide direct access to apps or content. They are similar to large icons and have a rectangular shape.
The launchpad home page comes with a predefined set of groups and tiles. However, the user can also personalize the launchpad home page to reflect their individual roles by choosing from a wide range of ready-to-use tiles from the app finder.
Tiles differ in the content they display. They can contain an icon, a title, some informative text, numbers, and charts. The information that is shown depends on the function of the tile or app.
The number of tiles visible on a page depends on the screen resolution. The tiles are placed below each other and are resized for smaller screens.
In the launchpad home page, tiles are usually clustered in groups. These groups are listed in the anchor bar at the top of the page.
When you select a group, the page scrolls to the selected group.
If you want to modify groups and tiles, select Edit Home Page from the Me Area.
The anchor bar is only shown when users have more than one group.
Behavior and Interaction
Users can personalize their home page in a variety of ways. Tiles can be rearranged directly, but most actions, such as the ability to rearrange groups or to customize tiles, require the user to activate the edit mode.
To enable more enhanced personalization functions, the user needs to open the Me Area, and then select Edit Home Page.
To finish personalizing, the user selects Done in the footer toolbar.
Tiles have the following behavior and interactions:
(via Edit Home Page only)
When Edit Home Page is activated and the user clicks or taps a tile, an action sheet appears showing a list of generic actions, such as Settings or Move. Tile designers can also add additional generic actions.
Settings opens a dialog in which the user can change the information that is displayed on a tile, such as the title or description.
If you want to move the tile to a different group, Move opens a dialog in which the user can move the selected tile to a different group.
(via Edit Home Page only)
The user can remove tiles by clicking or tapping the Remove icon on the top right corner of a tile.
To add tiles, users can either click or tap the Add icon ( ) on an empty group in edit mode, or select App Finder from the Me Area.
The user can rearrange tiles by dragging them to a new location in the same group, or by dragging them to a different group.
Clicking or tapping a tile opens the underlying app or content item.
Via Edit Home Page, users can customize groups to their needs:
Users can add a new group by clicking or tapping the + Add Group button. The user will be prompted to enter a new group name. If the user doesn’t immediately enter a name, the placeholder text Enter group name will appear as the default name. Once the group is created, it will appear below + Add Group on the launchpad home page.
The user can rearrange a group by dragging it to a new location in the group panel.
Users can rename groups by clicking or tapping a group name. A text box appears in which the user can enter the new name, which is then saved automatically. To discard a change while the text box is visible, the user must press Escape.
Users can delete groups they have created (including all the tiles they contain) by pressing Delete. Note that predefined groups, such as My Home, or locked groups (as defined by customers) cannot be deleted.
By clicking or tapping Reset, a user can reset a predefined group to its initial state as defined by an administrator.
Users can temporarily hide one or more groups on the launchpad home page. Note: The My Home group and locked groups cannot be hidden.
To hide a group, users go to Edit Home Page and select Hide on the top right corner of each group. To unhide a group, users select Show.